Blood Prophecy
by Alyxandra Harvey
Book: Drake Chronicles #6
Publisher: Walker Children’s 
Pub Date: January 2013
Genre: Young Adult
Format: Print
Source: Borrowed
Book LinksGoodreads  Amazon  Book Depository
In the thrilling conclusion of the Drake Chronicles, love and loyalties will be tested … and proven once and for all.
Solange Drake has been officially crowned Queen of the Vampires, fulfilling the centuries old prophecy that foretold the rise to power of a daughter born to an ancient vampire line. Except Solange’s thoughts and actions are no longer her own—she’s been slowly being possessed by the spirit of Viola, the first daughter born into the Drake line, since her bloodchange. And instead of uniting the vampire tribes under the rule of an ancient daughter as the prophecy predicted, Viola would rather destroy them all and enslave humans in a personal vendetta for the devastation both wrought to her life centuries ago. Can Solange break her hold in time to save everyone she loves from a vampire civil war, hunter attack, and each other? Not everyone will survive the prophecy . . . perhaps not even her.
My Review: DNF.
Just couldn’t finish the series. 

My Rating:


By Kimberley G. Little
Book: Forbidden #3
Publisher: HarperCollins
Pub Date: February 2017
Genre: Young Adult
Format: Print
Source: Bought
Book Links: Goodreads  Amazon  Book Depository
After tragedy strikes on the day they were to wed, Jayden must support Kadesh as he ascends the throne and becomes king of Sariba. But with the dark priestess Aliyah conspiring to control the crown, and the arrival of Horeb, Jayden’s former betrothed, Kadesh’s kingdom, as well as his status as king, is at stake.

Jayden knows that the time to be merciful has come and gone, and that some enemies can only be halted by death. Now she and Kadesh must prepare to fight not only for their love, but also for their kingdom.  

My Review: Jayden and Kadesh are dealing with the aftermath of their ruined wedding. Kedesh must suddenly be King now. Jayden has to wait even longer to be the official Queen. To top it off, a war is brewing and Jayden may never see her sisters again. 
Jayden and Kadesh are planning their strategy against her former betrothed. While Jayden comes up with a plan to save her baby sister and just maybe be able to convince her High Priestess to come home too. With all this in the background, Jayden and Kadesh are dealing with grief from all those they lost. While never losing that bond and holding strong until they could finally be wed.   
Loved the ending. Jayden and Kadesh finally got everything they wanted.

My Rating:


by Kylie Scott 

Book: Dive Bar #2 
Publisher: St. Martin’s Press 
Pub Date: April 2017 
Genre: New Adult 
Format: Print 
Source: Bought 

When his younger brother loses interest in online dating, hot, bearded, bartender extraordinaire, Joe Collins, only intends to log into his account and shut it down. Until he reads about her. 

Alex Parks is funny, friendly, and pretty much everything he’s been looking for in a woman. And in no time at all they’re emailing up a storm, telling each other their deepest darkest secrets… apart from the one that really matters. 
And when it comes to love, serving it straight up works better than with a twist. 

 My Review: Alex is ready to go! Fresh off the plane, looking all kinds of sexy and ready to meet Eric. So in she goes to the bar to meet Eric, the man of her dreams. When she walks up to him, the only thing he has for her is a blank and confused stare. That’s right……Eric has no idea who she is. But Joe does……. 

After Alex is done with all this humiliating, she runs out the bar and walks to her hotel. But damn if Joe isn’t a stubborn fool. Following after her, trying to talk and explain. He really like her, but hell if Alex isn’t ready to bust his balls. 

This book starts of in an amazing way. Things only got better as you went along and well I ended up finishing this book in one sitting. Yes, it was just that darn good. I have never read a book by Kylie that I didn’t love. They will never disappoint, so you should all be getting yourself copies of her books asap.  

Weekly Spotlight – Uninvited

“Exactly what he wanted me to do. Exactly what they all thought I would do. Everyone in here. Everyone out there in the world. A world so afraid of carriers, it makes killers out of the innocent.” 

The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she’s destined to become a murderer.

When Davy Hamilton’s tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn’t feel any different, but genes don’t lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he’s not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

My Review

Unleashed, the romantic, high-stakes sequel to New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s Uninvited, is perfect for fans of James Patterson’s Confessions of a Murder Suspect.

Davy has spent the last few months trying to come to terms with the fact that she tested positive for the kill gene HTS (also known as Homicidal Tendency Syndrome). She swore she would not let it change her, and that her DNA did not define her . . . but then she killed a man.

Now on the run, Davy must decide whether she’ll be ruled by the kill gene or if she’ll follow her heart and fight for her right to live free. But with her own potential for violence lying right beneath the surface, Davy doesn’t even know if she can trust herself.


Blood Moon

Blood Moon 
by Alyxandra Harvey

Book: Drake Chronicles #5
Publisher: Walker 
Pub Date: June 2012 
Genre: Young Adult 
Format: Print 
Source: Borrowed 
Book LinksGoodreads  Amazon  Book Depository

When the vampire tribes convene for the rare Blood Moon ceremonies, Solange Drake is plunged into a battle with her feral nature. The Drake brothers have been raised knowing that they had to protect their younger sister at all cost. But forbidden magic and a mysterious stranger have put them all in terrible danger. 
 Nicholas is going to have to make a difficult choice: between his girlfriend, Lucy, and his little sister, Solange- blood, or love?  The POVs are: Solange, Lucy and Nicholas.  
 My Review: Solange is becoming more unstable with each chapter. The blood change she went through was tough. But slowly, as the book went on her unstable chapters started to take a turn. Finally the Solange we love is finding her way back. Her relationship on the other hand…..well that didn’t go as planned.  
However, as the book went on, I started to lose interest again. It looks like this series started strong and then it lost my interest again. This just didn’t end up being the series I hoped it would be. 

The Beauty that Remains

The Beauty that Remains 
by Ashley Woodfolk  

Book: Stand Alone
Publisher: Delacort Press
Pub Date March 18, 2018
Genre: Young Adult 
Format: ARC 
Source: Publisher 
Book Links: Goodreads  Amazon  Book Depository  

Music brought Autumn, Shay, and Logan together. Death wants to tear them apart.

Autumn always knew exactly who she was—a talented artist and a loyal friend. Shay was defined by two things: her bond with her twin sister, Sasha, and her love of music. And Logan always turned to writing love songs when his love life was a little less than perfect. 

 But when tragedy strikes each of them, somehow music is no longer enough. Now Logan can’t stop watching vlogs of his dead ex-boyfriend. Shay is a music blogger struggling to keep it together. And Autumn sends messages that she knows can never be answered.  Each of them wonders: How different would my life be if this hadn’t happened? And now that it has . . . what’s next?  

My Review: Loved this book!! 

This book took some tough issues and executed it perfectly!

Shay and Sasha are twin sisters who share an amazing bond. Unfortunately, Sasha dies from her illness. Now Shay is left alone. Then you have Logan who is a great musician with his boyfriend by his side nothing can go wrong. But then he loses Bram. Then you have Autumn and her best friend Octavia, however, Octavia isn’t really here either. 

These three characters have all lost someone in the worst way. Each of them is dealing with this loss differently and not one is the same. Losing the ones they loved meant losing music too. Music no longer holds life together and each will need support and love from those around them to help heal and put the pieces back together. 

Each story will hit your emotions. Perfectly written and a book you won’t soon forget. 


Weekly Spotlight – Jason Sandberg Stand Alones

Baby Julia Feeds the Moon
In a small house, on a small hill, there lives a small baby with a big heart. Her name is Julia and when she discovers that the moon is hungry she’s determined to help! This lovingly crafted bedtime story is filled with twinkling stars and pixie wings.
My Review

Meet Mister Fumbulgrumbul. You’ll see him when he fumbles, you’ll hear him when he grumbles. When a poodle comes after his cookies, you know that hilarity will ensue. This richly illustrated rhyming picture book will be enjoyed over and over, by parent and child alike! 

“This book is anchored by the rhyming comedic tale of a man attempting to keep some cookies away from a poodle. The supplementary challenge I set for myself was to work subplots into a Picture Book without making the narrative confusing for a Preschool audience. I did this by parading whimsical and fantastic supporting characters through the backgrounds of the pages. These charming sight gags should add a secondary level of enjoyment to the reading experience.” – Jason Sandberg
My Review