Interview

When did you realize that
you wanted to become a writer? 
It
was about twenty years ago when I was in my late 20s. I didn’t get to actually
publishing my first novel until 2010.

Is being an Author all
you dreamed of, or did it just happen? 
I made the decision after so many years of
procrastinating, to get on with writing my first novel and to see it
published. 

What was the very first
thing you ever wrote? 
My
first novel was Mourning Doves after the Fire, published in 2010.

What was the inspiration
for your book? 
For
Kingdom’s End, I have always enjoyed animal themed work where the
characters are animals but have been given human characteristics. They
are able to think and feel and have different opinions about life and the
hardships it imposes on them. One day, I was waiting for the train to arrive in
the subway in NYC when suddenly I saw a group of about three or four rats
together with their noses coming together as in a huddle. I thought to myself,
what are they saying to each other? Are they able to communicate with each
other in a way that we as humans do not understand?  What is their life like living in the sewers
and subway tunnels? The book began shortly after that.

Who is your literary
hero? 
The three greats:
Fitzgerald, Hemingway, Thomas Wolfe.
Describe your main
character in six words.
 
Old Indio: the ruler of the colony. Beloved, sincere,
restrained, flawed, humble, brave.

Describe the world you’ve
created in six words. 
Dark
urban landscape filled with challenges
What scene was the
hardest for you to write? 
The
next to last chapter. It dealt with tragic circumstances that left the rat colony
with the ultimate choice to make, life or death.

What are you working on
now?
A war novel

Goals? Accomplishments? Improvements? 
My goal is to write more books and to remain
positive in my thinking about the world in general.

Are there any authors or books you recommend? 
Alien Land by Willard Savoy. It is a
powerfully written novel, published in the late 1940s. It deals with racism and
justice as experienced by a light skinned black man who can pass for white in a
time before the civil rights revolution. The prose is elegant and
gritty.

What’s your favorite
thing to do when you’re not writing? 
Quiet
passive things: Going to films, museums, listening to music, reading, watching
tv.

Leave a Reply

